Nerve’s New Music Monday – 12/03/2018

New Music Monday – 12/03/2018

Showcasing the best new releases from established as well as new/up and coming artists, this is New Music Monday.

On this week’s show on Joshua Coase was re-joined by Nerve Radio’s Head of Music Calum Goddard. You can view their favourite tracks and find out more information about the artists below!

Click here to listen back to the radio show in full on our Mixcloud catch-up service

Don’t forget to follow our NMM Spotify playlist which is updated weekly

Joshua Coase’s Tracks Of The Week

Evelinn Trouble – Monstruous

Evelinn Trouble - Monstruous

Based in Berlin, Germany, Evelinn Trouble is an alt-pop artist who has been producing music since 2007.

Her music is predominantly guitar based, as demonstrated in her last album, Arrowhead, but Monstruous is a complete contrast, solely synth-based led by Evelinn’s chilling vocals.

Originally from Zurich, Switzerland, this is a brand new chapter in Evelinn’s music career as she prepares to release her new EP, Hope Music, in May.

Evelinn said that Hope Music will feature a track similar to pop nature of Monstruous but the other two tracks will be a bit more experimental. I look forward to hearing what she has in store in this new EP.

Will Heggadon – Say

Will Heggadon - Say

Will Heggadon first rose to fame due to posting covers on his YouTube channels and Facebook page and he is quickly establishing himself as one to watch in 2018.

His single, Sinking In, featured on my very first show back in September last year and it remains one of the favourites songs that I’ve ever featured on New Music Monday.

In recent releases Will has began to experiment more with his backing, introducing a drum machine and sampling and.

His latest track Say is has a very different feel to any of his previous tracks, featuring subtle synths more prominently as opposed to a electric guitar.

Speaking about this track, Will wrote on his Facebook page: “This started as a song with a normal band setup, but after experimenting with some new sounds I felt that this vibe began to suit it! Eventually it turned into a fully produced track without a guitar in sight which is VERY scary.”

Wet – There’s a Reason

Wet - There’s a Reason

American indie pop duo Wet are back with their first release since their wonderful debut album, Don’t You.

Released in 2016, Don’t You is an album I urge you to listen to if you are fan of stripped back, mellow pop tracks.

Singer Kelly Zutrau’s, soft, distinctive vocals guide you in a musical journey and the duo’s standout tracks are Deadwater, Don’t Wanna Be Your Girl and You’re the Best.

There’s a Reason is a more uptempo release, with Kelly and Joe Valle ditching the synths for guitars in this, the title track from their forthcoming album.

Caitlyn Scarlett – Ornaments

Caitlyn Scarlett - Ornaments

Caitlyn Scarlett is an independent artist from London who has received praise from BBC Introducing, The 405 and Clash.

With over six million streams on Spotify so far, you may recognise her voice from her pop single Happy When, remixed by Miko Waye.

Renowned for her song writing, Caitlyn signed a publishing deal with BMG last summer and was invited by Roc Nation to join the Rihanna writing camp in London. While there she worked with the likes MelO (who has written for Beyoncé) and DJ Dahi (who has written for Drake and Kendrick Lamar).

Caitlyn achieved great success at the back end of last year following the release of her EP, Red Tape, Vol. 1 and is hoping for more of the same in 2018 with the release of her new single Ornaments.

In her own words: “Ornaments is about my anxiety and rocky history surrounding relationships and navigating modern society. People are like ornaments in shops I can’t afford, which expresses difficulties I’ve faced with approaching, trusting and understanding others.”

Joshua Coase’s Album/EP Of The Week

Ady Suleiman – Memories

Ady Suleiman - Memories

Ady Suleiman is a 24 year old singer-songwriter from Nottingham and his debut album, Memories has been a long time coming.

Ady was labelled as one to watch way back in 2013 and signed with Simon Cowell’s label Syco in 2016, but left last year as it didn’t work out.

Having received high praise from the likes of Chance the Rapper and Michael Kiwanuka it was about time we hear an LP from Ady and it does not disappoint.

Memories is a wonderful blend of R&B, Jazz and Funk, with plenty of light and shade in the album to keep you fully engaged over the course fo the 13 tracks.

Ady has many musical inspirations including Amy Winehouse, Frank Ocean and Stevie Wonder and there is plenty of evidence of those artists in two of my favourite tracks I played on the show, Not Giving Up and Serious.

This is definitely one of my favourite albums I’ve heard this year so far and other songs to check out include the opening track Remember and his final track Sad Story (Refix).

Other Albums To Check Out This Week

Calum Scott – Only Human

George FitzGerald – All That Must Be

The Neighbourhood – The Neighbourhood

Calum Goddard’s Tracks Of The Week

Track reviews below written by Calum Goddard.



Released as a single, however this track is part of XXXTENACION’s new album, ? which will be released March 16th (this Friday).

He was released from jail in December and this is his first major project since his release.

He’s 19 and from Florida, he creates melodic hip-hop that always tackles current issues.

He’s a very outspoken character within the industry. Always prone to going about things in an unusual way.

Amber Mark – Love Me Right

Amber Mark - Love Me RightAmber Mark is a 23-year-old Pop/Soul singer from London and this is her second project since her debut EP 3:33AM was released in 2017.

This EP featured the single Lose My Cool, this song propelled her to success, was greatly received by the like of Radio 1 and this track here is not going to go un-noticed.

There’s been no conclusive information yet but I imagine she is gearing up to an album release.

The Knocks – Ride Or Die (Feat. Foster The People)

The Knocks - Ride Or Die (Feat. Foster The People)

The Knocks are an American electronic music duo consisting of Ben Ruttner and James Patterson.

They are known for their singles Classic featuring POWERS, I Wish (My Taylor Swift), which was collaborated with Matthew Koma and Kiss The Sky featuring Wyclef Jean.

Their debut album, 55, was released on 4th March 2016.

This track features Foster The People, who had a large period of success with tracks such as Pumped Up Kicks and Call It What You Want.

This track captures both bands style’s perfectly.

Lil Yachty – she ready (Feat. PnB Rock)

Lil Yachty - she ready (Feat. PnB Rock)

This is the third major album for Lil Yachty, his debut album came in 2016 , which was appropriately titled Lil Boat.

Since then he released Teenage Emotions in early summer 2017 and has now released album number three, Lil Boat 2.

This track is taken off the latest album that was released on Friday, features artists such as Quavo, Offset and Lil Pump.

The album has a very varied style, the heavy rap tracks are all labelled in capital letters and the slightly more melodic tracks are all labelled in lower case.

She Ready is one of the more melodic tracks taken off of the album.